Skip to content Skip to footer

Take a Class

We're now offering a greater number of art classes, at a lower cost. We also have need-based scholarships to help make art accessible for everyone. 


Become a Member

Horticulture

Horticulture Certificate Program

Wednesday, September 6 – Friday, May 31
Our three-year certificate program covers horticultural science, methods, and design.
Free / Social

Mural Arts Studio at the Barnes

Wednesday, January 17 – Monday, December 31
The Barnes is collaborating with Mural Arts Philadelphia on a variety of projects this year.
Art in Context / Understanding Materials and Techniques / The Barnes Method

The Barnes-de Mazia Certificate Program

Monday, January 22 – Tuesday, May 1
This special track offers an immersion in the Barnes method and an introduction to other interpretive approaches.
Special Offer

Join Now!

Wednesday, February 14 – Thursday, May 31
Talks & Tours / Special Offer

Treat Mom!

Wednesday, May 2 – Thursday, May 31
Book a May tour in celebration of Mother's Day, and we'll treat Mom with a special gift.
Talks & Tours / Members

Spotlight Tour: Renoir: Father and Son

Monday, May 7 – Thursday, May 31
Our May Spotlight Tour focuses on the groundbreaking artists Jean Renoir and Pierre-Auguste Renoir.
Talks & Tours / Members

Spotlight Tour: Rousseau: Monkeys, Tigers, and Bears, Oh My!

Friday, June 1 – Saturday, June 30
Learn about Henri Rousseau and the inspirations behind his exotic landscapes in our June Spotlight Tour.
Nightlife / Music / Performance

First Friday! Afro-Cuban Jazz

Friday, June 1, 6 – 9pm
An evening of 20th-century American love songs performed with an Afro-Cuban beat, featuring renowned vibraphonist Tony Miceli.
Free / Family / Music / Social / Performance

PECO Free First Sunday Family Day: Summer Solstice

Sunday, June 3, 10am – 5pm
Celebrate the arrival of summer with free art, live musical performances, and hands-on activities for all ages.
Free / Family / Social

Love Across the USA Mural Assembly with Olek

Sunday, June 3, 10am – 8pm
Watch Olek and her team of artists begin to assemble community-made crochet squares into a new mural celebrating a Philadelphia woman.
Free / Nightlife / Music / Social / Performance

Barnes on the Block

Sunday, June 3, 4 – 8pm
Join us for our first-ever block party, with free art, food trucks, a beer garden, and music by DJ Rich Medina.
Talks & Tours / Special Offer

Treat Dad!

Monday, June 4 – Sunday, June 17
Book a Renoir: Father and Son exhibition and collection tour in celebration of Father's Day, and Dad's ticket is on us.
Talks & Tours

In Focus Gallery Talk: Cézanne’s The Card Players

Monday, June 4, 2 – 2:30pm
Get the story behind the painting with Roksana Filipowska, a PhD candidate in art history at the University of Pennsylvania. Free with admission; Room 1
Family / Talks & Tours

Stroller Tour

Thursday, June 14, 10:30 – 11:15am
Our new Stroller Tours make visiting our galleries less stressful for families with babies.
Members

Member Orientation

Friday, June 15, 10 – 11am
New members are invited to learn more about the perks of membership at the Barnes.
Talks & Tours

4th Annual Violette de Mazia Lecture

Saturday, June 16, 11:30am – 12:30pm
Learn about Albert Barnes’s Philadelphia roots and how they shaped the man and collector.
Talks & Tours

In Focus Gallery Talk: Matisse’s High Tide

Monday, June 18, 2pm – 2:30am
Miriam Stanton, a PhD candidate in art history at the University of Pennsylvania, will discuss this 1920 work. Free with admission; Room 9
The Barnes Method

The Painted Garden

Tuesday, June 19, 10am – 4pm
Artists and garden designers share a strong sense of “place” and a heightened perception of the sensual qualities inherent in nature.
Members

Guided Gallery Talk: Renoir: Father and Son/Painting and Cinema

Wednesday, June 20, 12 – 1pm
Take a closer look at Renoir: Father and Son/Painting and Cinema with this in-depth tour for members.
Family / Social

Barnes Toddler Time

Thursday, June 21, 10 – 11:45am
Join us for a combination of storytime, art making, and movement activities just for kids ages 2–4 and their parents or caregivers.
Understanding Materials and Techniques

Understanding Color in Painting

Tuesday, June 26, 10am – 4pm
An in-depth look at the color techniques of painters working in oil across a range of artistic movements—from old master painting to impressionism to fauvism.
Free / Family / Social / Performance

PECO Free First Sunday Family Day: Summer Games

Sunday, July 1, 10am – 5pm
Celebrate summer with creative play at the Barnes! Join us for free art, crafts, and performances by the Almanac Dance Circus Theatre.
Nightlife / Music / Performance

First Friday! Rhythmic Fireworks: Cotler and Velez

Friday, July 6, 6 – 9pm
Using only vocals and a drum, Glen Velez and Loire Cotler deliver an unforgettable concert experience.
The Barnes Method

A Sense of Sight

Tuesday, July 10, 10am – 4pm
Focusing on several iconic paintings, this one-day workshop explores the ways that paintings engage our sense of sight and how artists communicate using their own visual language.
Members

Member Orientation

Friday, July 13, 10 – 11am
New members are invited to learn more about the perks of membership at the Barnes.
Horticulture

Floral Design

Monday, July 16 – Monday, July 30
Learn how to create a seasonal centerpiece, floral jewelry, and hand-tied bouquets.
Understanding Materials and Techniques

Through the Artist’s Eyes

Tuesday, July 17, 10am – 4pm
Join us for a full day of discussion focusing on the artistic process, from the initial concept to the choice of materials to the final product.
Nightlife / Music / Social / Performance

Artist Bash: Historical Memory

Friday, July 20, 8 – 11pm
Our fourth Artist Bash brings you contemporary expressions of traditional art forms from around the world, reflecting the melting pot that is America.
The Barnes Method

Inspiration and Impact: The Art of Paul Cézanne

Tuesday, August 14 – Wednesday, August 15
What was it about Cézanne’s work that inspired early modernists from Monet to Bonnard and continues to influence painters today?
The Barnes Method

The Practice of Meditation and Close Looking

Tuesday, August 21, 10am – 4pm
A daylong immersion in close looking and meditation. Enjoy the quiet experience of looking at artwork, with Dr. Barnes’s concepts of formalism (color, light, line, and space) in mind.
Talks & Tours

Lecture Series: Kenneth E. Silver, Transatlantic Episodes in Modern Art

Saturday, September 8, 11:30am – 12:30pm
Art historian Kenneth E. Silver illuminates the beautiful and sometimes surprising works that resulted from the cultural exchange between French and American artists.
Members

Member Orientation

Friday, September 14, 10 – 11am
New members are invited to learn more about the perks of membership at the Barnes.
Talks & Tours

BYOB Fireside Chat: Why should I care about an artist’s personal conduct?

Tuesday, September 25, 6 – 7pm
This new series presents our director, Thom Collins, in dialogue with a featured guest about a difficult topic.
Horticulture

Foraging—Eating Fresh from the Local Landscape

Wednesday, September 26 – Thursday, October 25
Find out how to identify species of edible plants, recognize poisonous plants of our region, and grow edible plants in our landscapes.
Nightlife / Music / Social

Morisot: Passport to Paris

Friday, October 19, 7 – 11pm
Enjoy an evening of breathtaking art, sumptuous bites, artisanal cocktails and live music at the preview party celebrating Berthe Morisot: Woman Impressionist.
event

The Barnes Arboretum

Thursday, August 1 – Friday, December 27