Skip to content Skip to footer

Armando I. Bengochea and Jeffrey A. Honickman Elected to the Barnes Foundation Board of Trustees

Philadelphia, PA, February 11, 2020The Board of Trustees of the Barnes Foundation today announced that Armando I. Bengochea and Jeffrey A. Honickman have been elected to the Board of Trustees.

“My fellow trustees and the Barnes staff join me in welcoming Armando and Jeffrey to the Board of Trustees,” says Joseph Neubauer, Chair of the Barnes Foundation Board of Trustees. “Armando’s extensive experience in higher learning, dedication to diversity and inclusion, and critical support of students through his work as senior program officer for Higher Education and Scholarship in the Humanities and director of the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship (MMUF) at the Mellon Foundation, will be a significant asset to the Barnes Foundation as we advance our educational mission. Jeffrey and his family are longtime friends of the Foundation and have extended their generosity in remarkable and lasting ways. Over the years, he and his wife, Margie, have generously supported our exhibition and education programs. With Jeffrey’s dedication to our mission and keen business acumen, the Barnes will benefit greatly from his wide-ranging expertise.”

“This is an exciting time to join the Barnes—an institution with a remarkable history, world-renowned collection, and a deep, lasting legacy rooted in education,” says Bengochea. “There is an undeniable forward momentum and excitement surrounding the Barnes, and I look forward to working alongside my fellow trustees to help it continue flourishing.”

“The Barnes has been an important part of our community and I’m delighted to be joining the Board of Trustees as the institution enters its second century–a landmark moment in its history,” says Honickman. “With its historic collection, innovative programs and exhibitions, and its dedication to creating meaningful connections with the community, there is much to look forward to on the horizon.”

Armando I. Bengochea is senior program officer for Higher Education and Scholarship in the Humanities and director of the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship (MMUF) of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. In this role, Bengochea makes grants across the many sectors of higher education, including to the top research universities; private liberal arts colleges; large, urban comprehensive universities; Historically Black Colleges and Universities; Tribal Colleges and Universities; and Hispanic Serving Institutions. As director of the MMUF—which is, at 30 years old, the Mellon Foundation’s longest continuously running grantmaking program—Bengochea helps design pathways to the humanities professoriate for fellows who begin as college sophomores and who are subsequently supported throughout their time in PhD programs as well as into their early careers as faculty members.

Bengochea joined the Mellon Foundation in 2012 following 26 years as an academic dean at Brown University and Connecticut College. He received a BA from the University of Pennsylvania and a PhD in politics from Princeton University. He is a trustee of Colby College and serves on the New York Advisory Board of the organization Facing History and Ourselves.

Jeffrey A. Honickman is a principal of the Honickman group of bottling companies, which includes Pepsi-Cola Bottling Company of New York, Pepsi-Cola & National Brand Beverages, Ltd., Canada Dry Bottling Company of New York, Canada Dry Delaware Valley Bottling Company, and Canada Dry Potomac Corporation. He began his career with the family-owned soft drink business in 1981. Under his direction, the organization expanded into malt beverage distribution through a series of joint ventures in Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, and Arizona.

Mr. Honickman holds an MBA in finance from Drexel University and a BS in accounting from George Washington University. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of Comcast Corporation, as a director of the 7-UP Bottlers Association, and he is past-chairman of the American Beverage Association Board of Directors. Additionally, Honickman serves on the Advisory Council of the Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital. He and his wife, Marjorie (Margie), reside in Philadelphia.

The Board of Trustees of the Barnes Foundation:
Joseph Neubauer, Chair
Aileen Kennedy Roberts, Vice Chair
Stephen J. Harmelin, Esq., Treasurer
The Honorable Jacqueline F. Allen, Secretary
John J. Aglialoro
John R. Alchin
Armando I. Bengochea, PhD
Sheldon M. Bonovitz, Esq.
Pamela D. Bundy
Daniel M. DiLella
Jeffrey A. Honickman
Cathy Hughes
John H. McFadden, Esq.
Christine Poggi, PhD
Brenda A. Thompson, PhD

The Barnes Foundation is a nonprofit cultural and educational institution that shares its unparalleled art collection with the public, organizes special exhibitions, and presents programming that fosters new ways of thinking about human creativity. The Barnes collection is displayed in ensembles that integrate art and objects from across cultures and time periods, overturning traditional hierarchies and revealing universal elements of human expression. Home to one of the world’s finest collections of impressionist, post-impressionist, and modern paintings—including the largest groups of paintings by Pierre-Auguste Renoir and Paul Cézanne in existence—the Barnes brings together renowned canvases by Henri Matisse, Pablo Picasso, Amedeo Modigliani, and Vincent van Gogh, alongside African, Asian, ancient, and medieval art as well as metalwork, furniture, and decorative art.

The Barnes Foundation was established by Dr. Albert C. Barnes in 1922 to “promote the advancement of education and the appreciation of the fine arts and horticulture.” Since moving to Philadelphia in 2012, the Barnes has expanded its commitment to teaching visual literacy in groundbreaking ways, investing in original scholarship relating to its collection, and enhancing accessibility throughout every facet of its program.

The Barnes is open Wednesday–Monday, and tickets can be purchased on-site, online, or by calling 215.278.7000. Ticket prices and current hours are listed on our website.

Deirdre Maher, Director of Communications
Online press office